5 things about being an artist that no one tells you

Rafi Was Here Studios - Rafi & Klee

When I was in school the question “Can I make a living with my art?” wasn?t something that was up for debate.

rafi perez and drop of destiny

If you are planning on being an artist, you either get discovered or you starve. I would fantasize about a Bohemian lifestyle where I would paint large cheeseburgers and sell them just so I could eat one.

Honestly, it?s one of the biggest misconceptions of the art world: You?ve got celebrity artists who could smear feces on a photograph of a smurf and sell it for a million dollars. Then you have people who are dedicated, talented, yet tragically unappreciated until the day after they die.

A lot of wannabe artists feel that the art world is a make or break place where you either make it or you crash and burn into obscurity. But honestly, that?s all bullshit. The advice I would tell myself when I was…

View original post 308 more words

One thought on “5 things about being an artist that no one tells you

Leave a Reply

