Derwent Inktense and Faber Castell Durer Watercolor pencils

Hi there,

Recently I had a few people asking about the pencils I use.. for my dry pencils I use Faber Castell Polychromos – they are oil based, have good intensity and work really well for me..

But the real fun comes with using the watercolor pencils – I have a set of the Faber Castell Albrecht Durer Watercolor pencils… they have a great intensity and I really love how they work.. now I have read that when dry they are permanent and you should be able to layer more color and water over the top without disturbing the layer underneath.. and what I have personally found is that this is not the case… I can still move color on a dried piece with a wet brush. Though to a lesser extent than regular watercolors.

On the other hand Derwent Inktense pencils (and blocks) work more like inks when wet, have a more intense color when wet and appear to really be fast when completely dry. I have to mention that I don’t own any Inktense pencils and I’m only going by what I’ve read and seen on youtube… Inktense are also very good for applying to fabric as the following video clips show…

I hope you found this article useful. Take Care… happy drawing.

One thought on “Derwent Inktense and Faber Castell Durer Watercolor pencils

  1. Thank you! 🙂 The Polys are smudgeproof, according to Faber-Castell, and I’ve found that also to be incorrect, so I was a bit suspicious about the permanency of the watercolor pencils. Love the way they dissolve on paper though, in my opinion much smoother than the regular Derwent WC pencils. (The Inktense dissolve better.). Still love their stuff but I’m curious about some of the claims they’re making. I wonder if they are using different papers, though, as mine tend to be on the cheaper side.

    Like

Leave a Reply

