A Start in Oils

Hi again.. I just wanted to share.. this my very first touch with oil paints..

Here is my work space all primed and ready to go… I thought I’d start by using the palette knife seen at bottom right amongst the virgin tubes of paint!

And here is the canvas with the pain applied so far, actually I had completed more after this was taken… I loved how the paint felt on my brush against the canvas, almost intoxicating! but wow I wasn’t quite ready for how long the paint takes to dry!!!! I want to get more color on there, but with what’s there still wet I know I’ll have to wait! so anyway I think I’ve made a nice enough background of sorts.. I have no idea where it’s going to end up.. it’s just a play to get used to the paint..

Thanks for reading.. I’ll hopefully post another update once I’ve added some more.. 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Start in Oils

  1. Hello Piers! Wonderful set up and congratulations on this new adventure! Just as you mentioned I also feel like oil takes to long to dry for me. Once I am in my creative mood I want to continue on and explore that creative flow. In order to do this I now use acrylics and have a blow dryer handy. So when the creative juices are flowing I can continue to dove deeper into it with minimal time lost. You mention you have no idea where it will end up. Well. View this as the greatest opportunity to take it where you will allow yourself too. Try this. Next time you are getting ready to paint. Clear your mind of all plans or goals for the painting you are about to create. Put on some tunes and let the tools you choose to use and the pure energy you feel take over. It's amazing what you will do when you forget your plans for the work and have nothing looming over you. Would love to see what you come up with! Happy creating!

    Like

  2. Thank you Raymond for responding to my post! 🙂 Generally the last few sentences you wrote is almost exactly how I create… though the medium I have tended to use is graphite and colored pencil! I chose oil precisely for the fact that i can push the paint around and be tight and controlled with it, or fairly loose and free… I want to take a drawing onto the canvas I feel oils would be a good medium to use.. I tried using Acrylics and they're great for fast and spontaneous work but I didn't really like it all that much.. so I decided to try the longer drying aspects of oil. I just want a handle on how long it needs to dry before adding more paint. Thinking about it, I could always get some drying medium to add, if i want to do more loose straight to canvas works as opposed to the more controlled pencil to canvas work I have in mind to do..

    Like

Leave a Reply

