Just another word about REBOOTING MY LIFE… and my work

I just want to share this with you.. because it resonates so very much with my situation.

A video made by Brand Consultant Debbie Millman – about reconnecting with what you love to do, what your heart and soul needs you to do.. The video posted within Adobe Inspire eZine.. the whole idea that you get to a point and realize that a long time ago you made a wrong turn, a wrong choice not necessarily a bad choice, well maybe bad in that it has lead to an unfulfilling point in ones life much further down the track.

I got to that point – after over 20 years in the Graphic Design industry… where I did okay but couldn’t progress any further than I did, consequently my pay never got anything near decent and neither did the satisfaction of what I produced. It seemed that for that time I just kept banging my head on the wall as I let my head lead my life. It wasn’t working, nothing improved.

Then something happened. We endured some serious earthquakes which literally shook up the whole place I lived. A short while later I got laid off from a secure(ish) but poorly paid job I had had for over 19 years.. a few months later I did manage to find another job, but I got made redundant from that one too… finding work after that was – well just seemed like an impossibility.

But then something else happened. Well two actually – my domestic/relationship situation changed which became the catalyst for the other thing, I had a huge epiphany! FOLLOW MY HEART!!! I asked myself, what do I need? what do I want? what makes me HAPPY!????? I realised that I am always happiest creating! I look back and instead of taking a financially secure path through commercial art/graphic design, I should have gone to University and done a BA.. and followed a path of fine art. The path that I have only now put myself on!

IT’S NEVER TOO LATE TO START AGAIN!! and be happy!!!!!

I now have BIG DREAMS!..  BIG GOALS! I have found the courage, skill and imagination to travel a path that I can not see ahead.. but what I do know is that I am VERY HAPPY doing what I am doing now… my art skills are improving all the time! Everything seems to be in a good flow.. opportunities and doors seem to be opening for me small as they maybe to me – I am confident these small things will grow to become bigger things… the events happening to me now give me confidence to continue forward, and vindication that I am doing what I am supposed to be doing and if I may say again feeling incredibly happy!

This is my story and how I feel.. but I couldn’t help think how similar I have felt to Debbie….

If I had a message – it would be DO WHAT YOU LOVE! and if you’re not, FIND A WAY TO DO IT!!

Thank you Debbie and Adobe for your video..

Adobe inspire: Fail: Debbie Millman

One thought on “Just another word about REBOOTING MY LIFE… and my work

Leave a Reply

